The first post

I’ve been debating for the last couple of days about how to make my first splash into the blogosphere. Do I want to appear witty? Or coy? Or intimidating? Or funny? Or a million other adjectives available at my disposal with this handy Shift F7 key?

Since I didn’t come up with funny until my fourth attempt, I’m guessing we can cross that one off the list (although I’m still holding out for witty). I’ve never really been known as the funny one, so I guess I’m ok with that holding true in the virtual world as well. Just as long as people find me sexy. That’s the main reason I started this blog: to have people think I’m sexy. After all, first impressions are a big deal.

This blog is a big deal.

Ok, let me rephrase that. This blog is a big deal FOR ME. For you, it’s really pretty hit or miss. You may enjoy it, you may find me boring, or you may come to passionately hate me after reading about my overtly self-involved tendencies. Although, you chose to read a blog, so I don’t really know what you were expecting beyond self-involvedness…

Back to my debate. I’ve been hoping for an inspiring thought that I could turn into a thrilling blog entry that would really get this thing off on the right track. But so far, the only thing I’ve thought to write about is hair removal, and somehow that just seemed like a bad idea for my FIRST post. This first post is supposed to give you a sense of what I’m about, and I don’t really want that to be hair removal.

I thought it would be a good idea to start my blog with the first chapter (a very rough draft, albeit) of a book I’ve been writing off and on for the past four years. Seeing as how I’ve already written quite a lot in this post, though, I have decided to hold off the book chapter until my next post. I know, the suspense is killing you. I know you’re dying for a sneak peek into this nobody’s book draft. I’m sure there aren’t a thousand other bloggers out there right now toting their book and using their blog as a stepping stone to bigger and better publishers.

That’s not really what I’m about, though. I want you to read the first page of my book because it is quintessentially me. It’s full of made up words and run on sentences and parenthetical side comments. I began writing this book during my senior year of college, following what was easily the hardest break up of my life. And it was through this book that I was reminded of how much I love to write, so it seems fitting that I should talk about it in my blog. I don’t know if I’ll ever finish it, as I’m nowhere near even the halfway point yet, but it’s some of my most honest reflections on my life, which is what I am hoping to continue in this blog. Honest reflections on LIFE. After all, like my tagline says, I’m just trying to get by here. May as well be honest about it.

Leave a Reply

