My book

As promised, here is my first page:

I don’t know why I’ve never stayed single. I have considered this phenomenon on more occasions than I care to remember, but somehow I’m still puzzled by it. I’m not exceptionally good-looking, I’m not remarkably unique, and while I like myself a great deal, there are no defining characteristics that make me particularly attractive to the opposite sex.

I started dating my first boyfriend at the age of 13. From then until the age of 24, I was single for a total of 14 months, though not consecutively. The longest consecutive non-relationship period was five months, and even during that time, I was dating pretty heavily.

There was a time in college when I worried that my inability to stay single resulted from a dependence on men. But honestly, I’ve never been conscious of feeling like I needed a man in my life. In fact, I’ve been rather passive about finding a mate. Everything has just kind of fallen into place for me. And to this day, I can’t figure out how I’ve happened upon so many long-term relationships. How did I turn into a serial monogamist? And more importantly, why?

In my quest to find that answer, this book was birthed.

If I had to take a guess, I would venture that my serial monogamism has somewhat resulted from the fact that I Plan B my life. I’m an extremely cautious person and I have lived my life so that I always have a safety net to fall back on. That’s why I never got out of control in high school, why I never attended any crazy parties in college, and why I have two accounting degrees and three years’ experience in public accounting (basically the safest career choice imaginable).

For a large part of my life, I never really took any big risks. I sometimes wonder if being single was just another risk that I was afraid to take.

I would love to tell you that I’ve now got everything figured out. I would love to tell you that, in writing this book, suddenly the skies opened up and everything was made clear (especially if that would entice you to read this all the way through).

What I can tell you is that, regardless of the ill-advised reasons for which I may have gotten into some of these relationships, they were all necessary in my journey to find myself and eventually my husband. And while some of the memories are painful (and were made more painful through the re-living and subsequent re-telling that this book demanded), they were much easier to deal with at my keyboard than inside my head.

One thought on “My book

  1. Pingback: Long Distance – Part 1 | Lizzyfinch

Leave a Reply

